My “Go-To” Healthy Meals and Recipes

fullsizerender-11

Today I hope to give a snippet of some of the meals and snacks that I eat fairly regularly. I’m a final semester Marriage and Family Therapy graduate student who goes to class all day Monday and Tuesday and interns at a counseling center and a psychiatric institute Tuesday night-Friday…in other words, i’m on the go all week long. Because of this, I like to keep my eats simple! The stereotype around eating well is that it takes too much time, but that doesn’t have to be true. My week is 100% better when I take Sunday night to prepare most of my meals for the week, so that I save money and can sleep in that extra 10-15 minutes each morning 🙂

THE ESSENTIALS:

Here is a list of some things that I always keep stocked in my pantry or fridge/freezer:

  1. Sweet potatoes- I usually bake 3 or 4 of these at once (400 degrees for an hour) and eat them throughout the week!
  2. Spinach- For salads, green smoothies, adding to soups, stir fry’s, etc.
  3. Eggs-the easiest healthy food to make on the planet. Boil them, fry them, scramble them. Crack one in a mug and microwave for 1 minute…bam, you have a poached egg.
  4. Avocado-Nutrient dense, healthy fat, keeps you full longer. I eat 1/2 an avocado pretty much every day.
  5. Gluten free or whole grain frozen english muffins and/or waffles- Put them in the toaster and smother with avocado, top with your poached egg, or add some almond or peanut butter.
  6. Quinoa-I cook a batch of this and it lasts all week. Add it to salads, put it in your sweet potato, add to stir fry’s, or eat it plain!
  7. Frozen veggies-I keep frozen broccoli, green beans, butternut squash, peas, corn, etc. and add them to my salads, quinoa, stir fry’s (can you tell I like stir frys?), etc.
  8. Gluten free old fashioned oats-If i’m not making avocado toast for breakfast, i’m making overnight oats!
  9. Extra virgin olive oil (EVOO)-for literally everything.
  10. Chicken breast
  11. Ground turkey (lean)
  12. Spaghetti squash-these bad boys are so easy to make and taste better than pasta to me! Put the whole thing in the oven at 400 degrees for an hour.
  13. No sugar added Almond and/or Peanut butter-cause it’s delish

GO TO MEALS AND RECIPES:

fullsizerender-12

Sweet potato and balsamic chicken breast, green beans, and cherry tomatoes.

Step 1: Warm up already baked sweet potato.

Step 2: in one skillet, cook fresh green beans, cherry tomatoes, and chicken breast. Coat the items in balsamic vinegar and cook until vinegar is thickened. Add some salt and pepper. That’s it.

fullsizerender-14

Eggs with spinach, black beans, feta cheese, and artichoke.

Step 1: Add 1/2 cup black beans (I use canned and I rinse them before using), a large handful of spinach, and canned artichoke hearts (Bc I had them) to a skillet with 1 TBSP EVOO. Heat for about 3 minutes, then add 2-3 scrambled eggs. Cook until eggs aren’t runny. Sprinkle with feta cheese (or whatever cheese ya have) Add hot sauce. Eat for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Done.

fullsizerender-13

Here is a picture of my Avo toast and 2 eggs with hot sauce. Takes 5 mins, if even.

HERE is a link to 2 of my favorite oatmeal recipes. She makes them on the stove, but I put all of the ingredients in a tupperware bowl, pop in fridge, and heat in microwave in the morning and eat on the way to internship!

HERE is a link to a favorite salad that I will eat a few times throughout the week! I add whatever healthy toppings I have (nuts, seeds, some cheese, fruits, veggies, etc.).

HERE is a link to some of my favorite healthy muffins!

HERE is a link to MORE healthy muffins that I have posted on my Instagram story! So freakin’ good!

HERE is a link to a white chicken chili that I am OBSESSED with. I will make on Sunday and eat all week and never get sick of it!

HERE is a link to my “Healthy Foodies” Pinterest page! If it’s on here, I approve.

CLICK HERE to follow me on Instagram for even more healthy food ideas!

As always, feel free to contact me for even more suggestions! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

